Cyprus warbler

I spent a week on Cyprus in April. I have been there before only in the winter and had high hopes April would be fantastic with birds on every bush and rock. It was not as good as I expected with birds in short supply at times, but I enjoyed it and did a lot more in one week than I might do in a year in the U.K.

One of my favourite images is of a Cyprus warbler, which was taken using a bag hide. I saw the bird land on the branch three times and set up to wait. The advantage of a bag hide is it is very light in your suitcase at 600 grams. The disadvantage is you have to sit very still inside it so it is less comfy than a stand alone hide.

On the first session I used the Canon 1DX, but the bird did not like the sound of the shutter so I used the Canon 7d Mk2 after that, which is so much quieter.

Cyprus warbler, Sylvia melanothorax, single male on perch, Cyprus, April 2015
Cyprus warbler, Sylvia melanothorax, single male on perch, Cyprus, April 2015. Canon 7d MK2. 800mm lens. 400 iso. 1/640th at F11

 

Published by mikelane81

Wildlife Photographer

Leave a comment